FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

I apologize for being late...

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Ray Brown View Drop Down
Pro
Pro
Avatar
NCW FOUNDER

Joined: 14 July 2003
Location: North Carolina
Status: Offline
Points: 14890
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Ray Brown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: I apologize for being late...
    Posted: 13 April 2021 at 10:08am
but I have been working on something else behind my mask.

If you haven't heard, Rep Billy Richardson from Fayetteville has filed a bill that will give you the voter the opportunity to remove nets and trawls from NC waters with your vote.  We each have our own opinion of that, but the idea that NC citizens would get to vote as did the citizens of Florida seems refreshing and if your representative gives the nod, then you can cast your ballot for or against inland nets in the November 2022 election.

NC has the most pages in their rule book on the ways that gillnet and trawls can be used in our waters leading some to label us, "the most regulated state for fisheries".   Other states just have one sentence to manage them.  "The use of nylon or monofilament gillnets is prohibited".  These are public trust resources so let's see if the legislature will trust you to decide yourself on what you by law already own collectively.



I am a native of NC. The "bycatch captial of the east coast of the US". Our legislature lets us kill more fish for no reason than any other Atlantic Coast state. I hope they are proud.
Back to Top
Rick View Drop Down
Pro
Pro


Joined: 16 July 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 6432
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2021 at 8:11am

Thanks for posting this Ray.  

You can follow status of the bill here-    https://www.ncleg.gov/BillLookUp/2021/H513

To make it easy on any and everyone that would like to support HB513, below is an email that I sent yesterday that you are welcome to use in whole or part.  Also below is an easy cut & paste list of members of the House...absent a few lost causes.

Mr. Speaker and Members of the House:

I would like to thank Representatives Billy Richardson and Marvin Lucas for their vision, leadership, and most of all their perseverance in trying to right a wrong. Supporting HB513 is an action that will benefit every citizen's right to enjoy our public trust resources and to preserve those public trust resources for our future generations- an honorable task.

The House is considering HB513- Peoples' Choice for Marine Sources. Not only do I ask that you support this bill by voting to move it forward, but I also ask that you look at the facts and acknowledge the importance and urgency of this bill by becoming a co-sponsor.

Entanglement gill nets are highly destructive and unsustainable gears. It is well past time for North Carolina to join every other state from South Carolina to Texas that has either banned these gears outright or effectively banned them through severe limitations on use. Bans on unsustainable and highly destructive gears create a healthy resource that like a rising tide will float all boats.

The citizens of NC should be allowed, must be allowed, the opportunity via a referendum to voice their support for ending the destruction so that a rebuilding of our public trust resources can take place to be enjoyed by all of us and our future generations.

Sincerely and Best Regards,


Jay.Adams@ncleg.gov; Gale.Adcock@ncleg.gov; John.Ager@ncleg.gov; Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.gov; Vernetta.Alston@ncleg.gov; Dean.Arp@ncleg.gov; John.Autry@ncleg.gov; Amber.Baker@ncleg.gov; Kristin.Baker@ncleg.gov; Cynthia.Ball@ncleg.gov; Mary.Belk@ncleg.gov; John.Bell@ncleg.gov; Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.gov; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.gov; John.Bradford@ncleg.gov; William.Brisson@ncleg.gov; Cecil.Brockman@ncleg.gov; Mark.Brody@ncleg.gov; Terry.Brown@ncleg.gov; Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.gov; Deb.Butler@ncleg.gov; Becky.Carney@ncleg.gov; Jerry.Carter@ncleg.gov; Mike.Clampitt@ncleg.gov; Ashton.Clemmons@ncleg.gov; Linda.Cooper-Suggs@ncleg.gov; Carla.Cunningham@ncleg.gov; Allison.Dahle@ncleg.gov; Ted.Davis@ncleg.gov; Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.gov; Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.gov; Terence.Everitt@ncleg.gov; John.Faircloth@ncleg.gov; Brian.Farkas@ncleg.gov; Susan.Fisher@ncleg.gov; James.Gailliard@ncleg.gov; Terry.Garrison@ncleg.gov; Rosa.Gill@ncleg.gov; Karl.Gillespie@ncleg.gov; Edward.Goodwin@ncleg.gov; Charles.Graham@ncleg.gov; Dudley.Greene@ncleg.gov; Destin.Hall@ncleg.gov; Kyle.Hall@ncleg.gov; Jon.Hardister@ncleg.gov; Wesley.Harris@ncleg.gov; Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.gov; Zack.Hawkins@ncleg.gov; Julia.Howard@ncleg.gov; Chris.Humphrey@ncleg.gov; Rachel.Hunt@ncleg.gov; Howard.Hunter@ncleg.gov; Pat.Hurley@ncleg.gov; Ricky.Hurtado@ncleg.gov; Frank.Iler@ncleg.gov; Verla.Insko@ncleg.gov; Joe.John@ncleg.gov; Jake.Johnson@ncleg.gov; Abe.Jones@ncleg.gov; Brenden.Jones@ncleg.gov; Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.gov; Brandon.Lofton@ncleg.gov; Carolyn.Logan@ncleg.gov; Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.gov; Nasif.Majeed@ncleg.gov; Grier.Martin@ncleg.gov; Pat.McElraft@ncleg.gov; Jeffrey.McNeely@ncleg.gov; Allen.McNeill@ncleg.gov; Graig.Meyer@ncleg.gov; Charles.Miller@ncleg.gov; Grey.Mills@ncleg.gov; Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.gov; Tim.Moore@ncleg.gov; Marcia.Morey@ncleg.gov; Ben.Moss@ncleg.gov; Erin.Pare@ncleg.gov; Howard.Penny@ncleg.gov; Ray.Pickett@ncleg.gov; Garland.Pierce@ncleg.gov; Mark.Pless@ncleg.gov; Larry.Potts@ncleg.gov; Amos.Quick@ncleg.gov; Robert.Reives@ncleg.gov; William.Richardson@ncleg.gov; Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.gov; James.Roberson@ncleg.gov; David.Rogers@ncleg.gov; Jason.Saine@ncleg.gov; Wayne.Sasser@ncleg.gov; John.Sauls@ncleg.gov; Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.gov; Carson.Smith@ncleg.gov; Kandie.Smith@ncleg.gov; Raymond.Smith@ncleg.gov; Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.gov; Larry.Strickland@ncleg.gov; John.Szoka@ncleg.gov; Evelyn.Terry@ncleg.gov; John.Torbett@ncleg.gov; Brian.Turner@ncleg.gov; Steve.Tyson@ncleg.gov; Julie.vonHaefen@ncleg.gov; Harry.Warren@ncleg.gov; Sam.Watford@ncleg.gov; Diane.Wheatley@ncleg.gov; Donna.White@ncleg.gov; Shelly.Willingham@ncleg.gov; David.Willis@ncleg.gov; Matthew.Winslow@ncleg.gov; Michael.Wray@ncleg.gov; Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.gov; Lee.Zachary@ncleg.gov; Jeff.Zenger@ncleg.gov





Edited by Rick - 14 April 2021 at 8:14am
fiogf49gjkf0d
NC Fisheries Management- Motto: Too Little, Too Late, Too Bad   Slogan: Shrimp On! Mission Statement: Enable Commercial Fishing At Any and All Cost, Regardless of Impact to the Resource.
Back to Top
Rick View Drop Down
Pro
Pro


Joined: 16 July 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 6432
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Rick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2021 at 5:08pm
Rep. Larry Yarborough (R) signed on as a co-sponsor of H513 yesterday. There is no stronger supporter in the legislature for fisheries reform. 
fiogf49gjkf0d
NC Fisheries Management- Motto: Too Little, Too Late, Too Bad   Slogan: Shrimp On! Mission Statement: Enable Commercial Fishing At Any and All Cost, Regardless of Impact to the Resource.
Back to Top
Rick View Drop Down
Pro
Pro


Joined: 16 July 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 6432
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2021 at 10:21am

Gillnetting-  Carteret County "Fresh Local"-

Newport River-

Direct Link-

Sometimes the movie feature on this site becomes inoperable.  The linked video below may or may not work.

#alwaysncfresh









Edited by Rick - 15 April 2021 at 4:10pm
fiogf49gjkf0d
NC Fisheries Management- Motto: Too Little, Too Late, Too Bad   Slogan: Shrimp On! Mission Statement: Enable Commercial Fishing At Any and All Cost, Regardless of Impact to the Resource.
Back to Top
bakesta View Drop Down
Pro
Pro
Avatar

Joined: 24 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2701
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bakesta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2021 at 9:04am
This bill went straight to the dead bill committee in the house.

Dead
"Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest." --- Mark Twain
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.11
Copyright ©2001-2012 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.297 seconds.